Having left his role as landlord of the Royal George in Market St, George Greenfield a leading Worthing poulterer, undertook the construction of Egremont in 1836. He later added a brewery to the rear of the building with its unique tower which can still be seen to this day. In 1924 Kemp Town Brewery acquired the site together with its tied public houses in the Worthing area.
Some modernisation was carried out by the new owners with a wine office being added in 1925. The brewery ceased production in 1926 and was converted into flats. In the 1960’s the Egremont’s guest rooms were popular with actors who were performing at the nearby Connaught Theatre. The Egremont continued as a public house but eventually closed down in 2009.
The property was bought by local resident Gregg Grundy who oversaw a considerable renovation project which included reinstalling the original carved doors and the unique Arts & Crafts leaded windows . The Egremont eventually reopened for business in May 2015.
The Egremont is included on Worthing Council’s Local Interest List of historic buildings and is within the Steyne Gardens conservation area.
David Pateman Worthing Society: www.worthingsociety.org.uk